Skip to content

Finding the Vision, then Staying Inspired

February 3, 2009

I just read a wonderful heartfelt commencement speech given by Oprah Winfrey, in 1997. To read the entire speech click here.

Near the end of the speech, Oprah talks about wanting to honor women all over the country and when she put out the request for women to send in their dreams, she received 77,000 requests.  She felt disappointed after reading them because, “so many women had such small visions, such small dreams for their lives…”

I stopped reading for a second to let my tears clear and the grief subside a bit.

I have been one of those women with small dreams and almost no vision for my life. I’m reading “Wishcraft” from Barbara Sher to unlock my own well protected, almost forgotten and much treasured dreams.

I’m feeling anger at how long I’ve had those dreams trapped under lock and key, fearful of showing them, sharing them, having them. I’m working hard to allow that anger to exist, without directing it at anything or anyone specifically, including myself.

Oprah says, “Hold the highest, grandest vision for yourself.”

I’m working on it. I’m working on it.

Barbara wants to leave no dreamer behind.

Oprah wants to you to create the highest, grandest vision possible  for yourself.

Maya Angelou knows you are already a Phenomenal Woman.

Start believing it, acting on it, living it and we’re all better off.  Every. Single. One. Of. Us.

5 Comments
  1. M Pearl permalink
    February 4, 2009 4:27 am

    Leave no dreamer behind is a wonderful sentiment. Did you know that Wishcraft is coming out in a special 30th anniversary edition? Barbara Sher is still writing books and working with people (in large audiences and small retreats) to make their dreams really happen. You can read more at her publishing site http://www.geniuspress.com Good luck!

  2. February 4, 2009 8:19 am

    “I have been one of those women with small dreams and almost no vision for my life. I’m reading “Wishcraft” from Barbara Sher to unlock my own well protected, almost forgotten and much treasured dreams.”

    I so hear you! I knew I must have had a dream but god knows I couldn’t even find it. That book “Wishcraft” really was the door knob to my dream. I figure the door had always been there, Wishcraft seemed to be the “tool” I needed to open that door.

    And has my life changed!!! Now I’m helping other people find and put their dreams into action. I love my life, even when I hate it…lol. It was as if I was in a waiting room for most of my life. Now that I get what my vision is, there is no way in hell I’m going back into that waiting room.

    I wish the same for you. So glad I found your blog, I hope you write about your progress as you work through that book.

    Best,
    Rachel

  3. Ria Ludy permalink*
    February 4, 2009 10:13 am

    Rachel – All I can say is I’m working on it. I’m working on it.

    M Pearl – I keep reading about her Scanner Retreatin France, where I would so luuuv to go, yet alas funds do not yet allow.

    They might however allow for the purchase of the 30th Anniversary Edition of WishCraft, since I’m using the free version from http://wishcraft.com

  4. Eileen permalink
    February 4, 2009 1:56 pm

    What beautiful, thoughtful, and important
    ideas Ria communicates above. And yes, Barbara Sher, Oprah, and Maya Angelou all have such magnificent things to say to women, to help them find and make happy use of their dreams and potential.
    I’m looking forward to the 30th anniversary edition of Wishcraft coming out, so I can introduce several of my friends to this watershed, ground-breaking book. (Hmmm, do those two metaphors clash? I hope not. 🙂 )

  5. Ria Ludy permalink*
    February 5, 2009 10:11 am

    Eileen – I am feeling the same way about the 30th edition. I was 7 when it was originally published and I had dreams then too (which I’m only starting to uncover again).

    I’m going to be sharing this book in as many forms as I can share it, with as many women AND men who will listen.

Comments are closed.

