Skip to content

That Little Girl…

December 21, 2008

heard an adult me tell her that she is valued and remains valuable and that those other adults, who didn’t tell her these things or blatantly told her the opposite growing up, were and continue to be, idiots.

I thought the adult me would feel lighter, more confident, more secure.  Okay honestly the adult me was hoping for immediate transformation.

And it was in a visceral way, since I could finally cry with that little girl as an adult.

It’s a start.

I smile at that little girl now every time I go in my bedroom.  I don’t have to pretend she’s not there or that she didn’t suffer.  I can feel she’s glad to see me coming and I’m glad to get to know her better.

The Brick Reclaimation Project is moving forward, slowly and consistently.

Comments are closed.

