Skip to content

Honesty and Expectations

June 30, 2008

What happens when I have one expectation and you have another expectation and were talking about the same thing?

Confusion happens. So does irritation, anger, frustration and usually the dissatisfaction of both parties and any peripheral parties involved.

Can this be avoided? Sure. Is it easy? Maybe.

When we have conversations about what our expectations are in certain situations and if we are honest with ourselves, generally the process is easy. So the question becomes, how honest with ourselves are we?

I can’t answer that question for you. I will answer it for myself. I can be pretty darn dishonest with myself. That dishonesty creates personal frustration, anger and confusion in myself and like osmosis, is picked up by others.

I was going to put an example here, yet when I thought about and edited this post, I realized it wasn’t really necessary. Suffice it to say, I find myself being more honest with myself. I am taking small steps to becoming more responsible in everything I do. I don’t need to wait for someone to suggest an action. I find that leaving no trace of myself behind is working and now that I get the habit of it, I am expanding it to include new things and to reverse old habits. It’s an everyday awareness.

My expectation is mine alone. So I have to be honest with myself now, this expectation that I have, I was wanting, hoping, expecting it to influence the actions of others. Wrong expectation. It’s no wonder anger, confusion and frustration show up.

This is a partial quote from Totally Unique Thoughts (TUT) from The Universe, that showed up in my inbox this morning. The Universe said, ” The only person who should ever have to live by your standards, Ria, is you. Let everyone else off the hook.”

So I am. I release the expectation of influencing others. I live by my expectations and up to the standards I set for myself without believing others must do the same.

See how easy it is when we are honest with ourselves? It’s easy to say, now we’ll see how well I do with everyday awareness.

Oh and if you want to have your own Totally Unique Thoughts from The Universe, ===>Sign Up <===, it’s free and it’s more than worth it.

Comments are closed.

