Skip to content

Wish Craft – A Quote and My First Lesson Learned (Part 1)

June 14, 2008

We think that accomplishment only comes from great deeds… Great deeds are made up of small, steady actions, and it is these that you must learn to value and sustain.” ~ “WishCraft” page 106 by Barbara Sher

Just a few weekends ago,  I was helping my 21 year old cousin drive to college over 800 miles away from where we grew up.

I told my cousin I was extremely proud of her.  What I didn’t tell her that I was just the tiniest bit jealous.

I have told her many times that no matter what she does or doesn’t do, her life is hers to live.  There will always be things that “shouldn’t be, but are” and her attitude, decisions and actions about facing those “shouldn’t be, but are” moments will shape her overall life and her day to day interactions.
When I looked in the trunk of her car, that morning before starting our journey, all I could do was laugh.   At the base of the trunk were a medium and a large suitcase covered by 31 boxes of shoes, along with 5 unboxed pairs stuffed into the mesh trunk organizer.

It brought back memories of me moving out of my parents house the first time.  My trunk looked just about the same, with many of the same style of shoes even, except my boxes were carefully stacked largest to smallest.  I didn’t have any suitcases.  My clothes were gently folded, on hangers beside the stacked shoe boxes.  I wasn’t heading off to college.  I wasn’t traveling hundreds of miles.  No one helped me drive.  I was running away. I didn’t know where I was going to sleep that first night, or any other night.  I had a few hundred dollars though and I had my *coughsputter* hotnubilebody *coughsputter*.

My cousin is a lot more secure in her esteem than I was at her age.  She is much more serious about what she wants to do and based on the conversations we had while driving, she is equally unsure about all the things that really matter to her.  She is fighting her demons, the best way she knows how, confronting them, one at a time and she is keeping her good friends around her.  She is asking for guidance from a higher power and she is listening.  All the things I didn’t do, initially.  I hope that I have encouraged her to do her best and to express her frustrations in a productive manner.  I hope that she will keep her head on straight and not get it twisted by circumstances and unwanted situations.  I hope that she accomplishes what she dreams of accomplishing, even if that means she struggles through things.  Like I said, I was a little jealous until I realized the truth.

I realized as I was crying into my sweet potatoe souffle (more details in Part 2), that I have those things too, now.  I couldn’t have talked to her about them if I didn’t have them.  I couldn’t explain it nearly as well if I didn’t also possess it.

While I may not have started with that foundation, I did slowly build it through trial and error, through a lot of the small, steady actions I have taken.  That is an accomplishment.  It’s only the beginning for her and for me.    It is the beginning for anyone that doesn’t just want Castles Made of Sand.

Still haven’t checked out “Wish Craft“? I hope it only because your life is exactly the way you want it to be.

3 Comments
  1. Rachel permalink
    June 27, 2008 10:46 pm

    Good read – Your cousin is lucky to have you! I am thinking everyone could gain by checking out Wishcraft!

  2. Ria Ludy permalink*
    June 28, 2008 10:41 am

    Rachel, thanks for reading! Definitely, check out Wishcraft.

Trackbacks

  1. Hating on Barbara Sher - WishCraft (Part 2) « Personal Transmutation

Comments are closed.

